News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in June 2024

July 1, 2024

Here are the latest promotions, appointments, and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from June 2024. Plus, a newly available funding opportunity for dance artists.

Comings & Goings

Amy Cassello has been named artistic director of Brooklyn Academy of Music after serving in the role on an interim basis since last fall.

Theresa Buchheister will step down as artistic director of New York City’s The Brick at the end of August.

Maya Erhardt has been appointed executive director of Richmond Ballet, effective July 1.

Stéphane Labbé has been named executive director of Ballets Jazz Montréal, beginning July 29.

Aaron Myers has been appointed executive director of Boston Dance Alliance, after serving in the role in an interim capacity.

Jenny Novac has been named interim executive director of Dorrance Dance.

Lissa Twomey will step down as executive director of The Australian Ballet.

At English National Ballet, beginning with the new season, Gareth Haw has been promoted to principal; Precious Adams, Ivana Bueno, Lorenzo Trossello, and Erik Woolhouse to first soloist; Rentaro Nakaaki, Emily Suzuki, and Francesca Velicu to soloist; and Alice Bellini, Georgia Bould, Minju Kang, Eric Snyder, Angela Wood, and Rhys Antoni Yeomans to junior soloist. Lead principal Erina Takahashi adds the position of répétiteur.

At the National Ballet of Canada, Tirion Law has been promoted to principal, Hannah Galway to first soloist, Emerson Dayton, Keaton Leier, and Isaac Wright to second soloist. First soloist Jordana Daumec has retired.

Harrison James will perform as a principal at both National Ballet of Canada and San Francisco Ballet for the 2024–25 season.

San Francisco Ballet principal Isaac Hernández has departed the company.

Hope Boykin, mayfield brooks, Kayla Hamilton, Soomi Kim, Baba Oludaré, and Yaa Samar! Dance Theatre are among Brooklyn Academy of Music’s 2024 resident artists.

A man in pajamas startles upright from where he is lying on a white bed. A half dozen dancers are upstage of the bed, right arms bent and raised overhead, palms tipping up. Another dancer looks curiously at the first man, hands tucked beneath their chin as they lean on the bed. Downstage, something dark splatters the floor beside the bed.
Yaa Samar! Dance Theatre in Last Ward. Photo by Whitney Browne, courtesy Brooklyn Academy of Music.

Vidya Patel has been named artist in residence of the Philharmonia Orchestra for the 2024–25 season.

Awards & Honors

Chief Manny (Brandon Calhoun), Brendan Fernandes, Darrell Jones, Vershawn Sanders-Ward, and Robyn Mineko Williams are among the inaugural recipients of the Walder Foundation’s Platform Awards, each of which includes a $200,000 unrestricted grant and professional development opportunities.

Peck, wearing a tuxedo, speaks at a microphone onstage, holding his Tony Award.
Justin Peck accepting the Tony Award for Best Choreography for Illinoise. Photo Mary Kouw/CBS.

Justin Peck won the 2024 Tony Award for Best Choreography for Illinoise. Other winners included The Outsiders for Best Musical and Merrily We Roll Along for Best Revival of a Musical.

Justin Peck received the 2024 Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Choreography for Illinoise at Park Avenue Armory.

Winners at the UK’s National Dance Awards included Iain Webb (Outstanding Achievement), William Bracewell (Best Male Dancer), Fumi Kaneko (Best Female Dancer), Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater (Outstanding Company), ZooNation: The Kate Prince Company (Best Midscale Company), Drew McOnie Company (Best Independent Company), William Forsythe (Best Classical Choreography, for The Barre Project by Tiler Peck and Friends), Kyle Abraham (Best Modern Choreography, for Are you in Your Feelings? at Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater), Brandon Lawrence (Outstanding Male Classical Performance, for Liebestod at Birmingham Royal Ballet), Tiler Peck (Outstanding Female Classical Performance, for Turn It Out by Tiler Peck and Friends), Paris Fitzpatrick (Outstanding Male Modern Performance, for Romeo + Juliet with New Adventures), Jemima Brown (Outstanding Female Modern Performance, for Surge with Tom Dale Company), Sae Maeda (Emerging Artist), Carlos Acosta (Outstanding Creative Contribution, for the concept of Black Sabbath – The Ballet), York Dance Project (Best Dance Film, for Sea of Troubles), and Javier De Frutos (Best Short Dance Film, for Whoever You Are).

Wayne McGregor, CBE, was named a Knight Bachelor of the Order of the British Empire in the King’s Birthday Honours.

Choreographers Mandy Moore, Kenny Ortega, Prem Rakshith, and Woo-Ping Yuen have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts’ 2024–25 Dance Research Fellows are Marina Harss, Jordan Demetrius Lloyd, Alessandra Nicifero, Marcelline Mandeng Nken, Brian Seibert, and Maria Vinogradova.

Jenna Savella received National Ballet of Canada’s 2023/24 David Tory Award, which includes a $3,500 prize. Monika Haczkiewicz and David Preciado received the Patron Award of Merit, which includes a $1,500 prize.

Derek Brockington was named to Crain’s New York Business“20 in Their 20s 2024” list.

New Funding Opportunity

The initial application period for Dance/USA Fellowships to Artists, which will award $31,000 unrestricted grants to at least 25 individual artists as well as additional resources, is open until Thursday, August 15. More information here.