The Clive Barnes Awards Nominees Have Been Announced

December 15, 2014

Each year, I look forward to the Clive Barnes Awards nominee list because it’s had a great track record of predicting where dance is going. Need proof? Past winners include Isabella Boylston, Lloyd Mayor and Lauren Lovette, and let’s just say they haven’t failed us since.

To even be nominated for the award is an honor. The selection committee is a list of dance bigs, including Arthur Mitchell, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, Diana Byer and others. Nominees receive a cash prize and the winner will get $5,000.

Here’s the list of dance nominees this year:

Harrison Ball, New York City Ballet

Christopher Bloom, Ballet Hispanico

Russell Janzen
, New York City Ballet

Devon Teuscher
, American Ballet Theatre

And there are a few dancey musical nominees on the theater list, too:

Jay Armstrong Johnson, On the Town

Will Pullen, The Wayside Motor Inn

Alex Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time

Collin Kelly-Sordelet, The Last Ship

Winners will be announced on January 26 in New York City.

Photo: Nominee Devon Teuscher in
La Bayadère. Photo by Rosalie O’Connor, Courtesy ABT.