Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater's Christopher Wilson in "WE. DANCE." (courtesy AAADT)

Essential Viewing: “WE. DANCE.”, a Powerful Video by Ailey’s Dancers

"When our hearts break, WE Dance."

That's the caption for the video above, created by and featuring dancers from Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Made in the midst of widespread protests over the death of George Floyd and so many other innocent Black people, it features poetic text written and performed by company member Hope Boykin, and moving, meditative dance footage from 25 other Ailey performers.


Here are the dancers featured, in order of appearance:

Hope Boykin, @hbdance
Yannick Lebrun, @yannicklebrun
Akua Noni Parker, @onlyupward
James Gilmer, @j_gilmer
Jacquelin Harris
Brandon Woolridge, @brandon_michael_woolridge
Samantha Figgins, @sfigg_udigg
Sarah Daley-Perdomo, @cherrysunblush
Jeroboam Bozeman, @jeroboamb
Jacqueline Green, @jagreen711
Jessica Amber Pinkett, @jessica.a.pinkett
Jermaine Terry, @jerms83
Jamar Roberts, @7jlr27
Constance Stamatiou, @constance.stamatiou
Belén Indhira Pereyra, @belen_pereyra_pro
Renaldo Maurice, @r_maurice25
Courtney Celeste Spears, @bahamaballerina
Christopher R. Wilson, @christopher.r.wilson
Vernard J. Gilmore, @vern93
Kanji Segawa
Clifton Brown
Miranda Quinn, @mirandaming4
Patrick Coker, @pcoke
Chalvar Monteiro, @chlvrmntro
Matthew Rushing, @matthewrushing73
Danica Paulos, @lens_of_the_heart

Latest Posts


Getty Images

Here's What to Do If You Find Out Your Company Is Closing

Relegated to the last phases of COVID-19 reopening, many dance companies have hung on precariously through slashed ticket revenue, reduced government funding and slowed philanthropic giving.

"A heartbreaking reality is that some companies may not recover financially from this pandemic," says Nora Heiber, the Western executive at the American Guild of Musical Artists. Many large companies will survive by tightening their belts, but smaller groups, hardly with an abundant cash flow to begin with, may face closures, leaving their dancers afloat in a tenuous job market. We asked three experts, including a dancer who has been through a company closure, to weigh in on what to do when your job disappears.

GO DEEPER SHOW LESS