News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in January 2022

February 1, 2022

Here are the latest promotions, appointments and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from the last month.

Comings & Goings

Tamara Rojo has been appointed the next artistic director of San Francisco Ballet. She’ll take over from Helgi Tomasson at the end of 2022. The search for her successor at English National Ballet is underway.

Jodie Gates has been named the next artistic director of Cincinnati Ballet. She takes over from Victoria Morgan on August 1.

Federico Bonelli will succeed David Nixon as artistic director of Northern Ballet, beginning at the post on May 1.

After the death of its founding artistic director, Nai-Ni Chen Dance Company has named associate artistic director Greta Campo interim artistic director; Ying Shi choreographer/director of traditional dance and preservation; and PeiJu Chien-Pott choreographer/director of contemporary/creative dance.

Juan José Escalante has been named executive director of National Dance Institute.

Tehvon Fowler Chapman has been named executive director of the Debbie Allen Dance Academy.

Anindita Neogy Anaam has been elected director of state affiliates for the National Dance Education Organization.

Molly Terbovich-Ridenhour has been appointed managing director of Kinetic Light.

Denise Bolduc has been appointed the inaugural director of Indigenous arts at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre.

Monica Stephenson has been appointed director of community engagement at Miami City Ballet.

At New York City Ballet, Preston Chamblee, Ashley Hod, Emily Kikta, Isabella LaFreniere, Miriam Miller, Mira Nadon and Emma Von Enck have been promoted to soloist. Principal Teresa Reichlen will retire from the company after a final performance scheduled for Feb. 19.

At Philadelphia Ballet, Sydney Dolan and Ashton Roxander have been promoted to first soloist, Jacqueline Callahan and Austin Eyler to demi soloist.

English National Ballet has announce several roster changes. Shiori Kase has been promoted to lead principal, Aitor Arrieta and Emma Hawes to principal. Lead principal Isaac Hernández will join San Francisco Ballet as a principal. Maria Kochetkova has left her position as lead principal.

Isabella LaFreniere is alone onstage in a high, open back attitude en pointe, her working arm mirroring the angle of her leg, the other extending long to the side. She wears pink tights and pointe shoes with an off-white, knee-length dress, the skirt slit to the waist.
Isabella LaFreniere in George Balanchine’s Chaconne. Photo by Erin Baiano, Courtesy NYCB

At Bolshoi Ballet, Jacopo Tissi and Igor Tsvirko have been promoted to principal, David Motta Soares to leading soloist, and Elizaveta Kokoreva and Eva Sergeyenkova to first soloist.

At Stuttgart Ballet, Agnes Su has been promoted to principal. Current principal Roman Novitzky will retire from his position at the end of this season and take up the newly created post of artist in residence.

Pacific Northwest Ballet principal Noelani Pantastico will retire from the company to join Central Pennsylvania Youth Ballet as a faculty member. She will continue as co-artistic director of Seattle Dance Collective. Her final performances with PNB are scheduled for February.

Amanda McKerrow and John Gardner will serve as guest répétiteurs at American Ballet Theatre through the end of its 2021–22 season.

Awards & Honors

Jenn Freeman | Po’Chop, Netta Yerushalmy, Pramila Vasudevan, Viveca Vázquez, luciana achugar, Wondertwins, Rosy Simas and T. Ayo Alston have been named 2022 United States Artists Fellows, which comes with a $50,000 unrestricted grant.

Leslie Cuyjet, Marguerite Angelica Monique Hemmings, nia love and David Thomson were among the recipients of Foundation for Contemporary Arts’ 2022 grants to artists, which includes a $45,000 award.

Dakota Camacho, Deborah Goffe, Jasmine Hearn, Brandon Kazen-Maddox, Marina Magalhães, Christopher K. Morgan, Edisa Weeks and Pioneer Winter are among the recipients of the 2022 Creative Capital Awards, which award up to $50,000 in project funding to selected artists.

Charya Burt and Christopher “Mad Dog” Thomas are the recipients of the 2022 Johnson Fellowship for Artists Transforming Communities, which includes a $35,000 award.

Anne Jung is the inaugural recipient of Louisville Ballet’s Dysart Award, which includes a $20,000 cash prize and commission to create a new work on the company, as well as a $5,000 donation to a dance education institution of the recipient’s choice.

Chloe and Maud Arnold pose back to back against a grey backdrop, smiling widely at the camera. They hold their tap shoes in their hands but wear high heels and leather-like outfits.
Chloe and Maud Arnold. Photo by Kaleena Rallis, Courtesy Kennedy Center

Kyle Abraham, Chloe and Maud Arnold, Camille A. Brown, Tony Duncan, Final Bow for Yellowface, Kinetic Light and Gregg Mozgala were among those named to the Kennedy Center Next 50 list.

At the 2022 Golden Globes, winners included West Side Story (Best Motion Picture, Musical/Comedy), Rachel Zegler (Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical/Comedy, for West Side Story), Ariana DeBose (Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical/Comedy, for West Side Story), Andrew Garfield (Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical/Comedy, for tick, tick…BOOM!) and Mj Rodriguez (Best Television Actress, Drama Series, for “Pose”).

Dance/USA’s 2022 Honorees are Judith Smith, who will receive the Dance/USA Honor Award, and Pamela M. Green, who will receive the Dance/USA ‘Ernie’ Award. The awards will be presented at a virtual ceremony scheduled for March 10.

Joe Rua received the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation’s 2021 Breakout Award.

India Bradley and Davide Riccardo received New York City Ballet’s 2022 Janice Levin Dancer Awards.

DaEun Jung and Taliha Abdiel are the 2022 recipients of L.A. Dance Project’s LAUNCH:LA Residency Program.

Nile Harris, Miki Orihara, Ogemdi Ude and Netta Yersushalmy are among the 2022 artists in residence at The Watermill Center.