News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in November 2023

December 1, 2023

Here are the latest promotions, appointments, and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from November 2023. Plus, a newly available funding opportunity.

Comings & Goings

Robert Battle has resigned as artistic director of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Associate artistic director Matthew Rushing will lead the company until a successor is found.

Garth Fagan has stepped down as artistic director of Garth Fagan Dance, shifting to the role of founder and distinguished artistic director emeritus. He has been succeeded by Norwood “PJ” Pennewell as artistic director and Natalie Rogers-Cropper as executive director and school director.

Christopher K. Morgan has been named artistic director of Malashock Dance, effective in January. John Malashock will transition to the position of founding artistic director.

Patricia Guerrero has been named artistic director of Ballet Flamenco of Andalucia.

Mariinsky Theatre director Valery Gergiev has been named general director of the Bolshoi, replacing Vladimir Urin. Gergiev will reportedly continue to lead the Mariinsky concurrently.

Former dancer Maria Seletskaja has been named music director at English National Ballet.

At Pacific Northwest Ballet, Sarah-Gabrielle Ryan has been promoted to principal, Clara Ruf Maldonado and Kuu Sakuragi to soloist.

At Paris Opéra Ballet, Inès McIntosh and Florent Meylac have been promoted to premier dancers. Through the annual concours de promotion, Nina Seropian, Hortense Millet-Maurin, and Célia Drouy have been promoted to sujet, Saki Kuwabara, Camile de Bellefon, Seehoo Yun, Elizabeth Partington, and Ambre Chiarcosso to coryphée.

Awards & Honors

Duke Dang received the Dance Advocate Award and Linda Murray the inaugural Dance Catalyst Award from Dance/NYC.

Courtney Spears and Révolutionnaire cofounders Justice Faith Betty and Nia Faith Betty were named to Forbes’ “30 Under 30 2024” list.

Aaliyah Christina, Helen Lee, Nora Sharp, and Phree have been named 2024 Lab Artists by Chicago Dancemakers Forum. Each will receive a $25,000 grant and a year of additional tailored support.

Mickey Davidson, Jordan Deal, and Aya Shabu have been awarded New Dance Alliance’s Black Artists Space to Create residencies, which includes studio access, living space, and a $2,000 stipend for the one-week residencies.

New Funding Opportunity

Applications for the MAP Fund’s 2024 grant cycle, which will award selected artists $25,000 for the creation and development of a new live performance project, $5,000 unrestricted operating funds, and $1,000 to redistribute to another artist in the grantee’s community, are open until 5 pm ET on December 19. More information here.