News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in September 2022

October 3, 2022

Here are the latest promotions, appointments and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from September 2022.

Comings & Goings

Dance Theatre of Harlem artistic director Virginia Johnson will retire at the end of June, becoming artistic director emerita. She will be succeeded by current resident choreographer and school director Robert Garland, at which time Tai Jimenez will become director of the Dance Theatre of Harlem School.

Maria Kowroski has been named artistic director of New Jersey Ballet, succeeding founder Carolyn Clark. Kowroski had been acting artistic director since November 2021.

Kiyon Ross has been appointed associate artistic director of Pacific Northwest Ballet.

Meg Paul has been named associate artistic director at Complexions Contemporary Ballet.

Karen Russo Burke will step down from her post as artistic director of Dayton Ballet at the end of the 2022–23 season.

Michael S. Rosenberg has been named president and CEO of New York City Center, succeeding Arlene Shuler on November 1.

Craig T. Peterson has been appointed president of Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, effective October 17.

Chloe Jones has stepped down as executive director of The Yard, joining University of Utah as assistant dean of the College of Fine Arts and executive director of UtahPresents. Yvonne Mendez has been named The Yard’s acting executive director.

Nayon Iovino has been named resident choreographer at Ballet Arizona.

DaYoung Jung has been named rehearsal director at Oklahoma City Ballet.

Andrew Murdock and Ching Ching Wong have joined Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal as rehearsal directors for the 2022–23 season.

Cecilia Iliesiu turns en pointe in attitude back, arms in high fifth, focus out to the audience. The perspective is from the wings. She wears a long, flowing dress of orange, blue, and white.
Cecilia Iliesiu in Jessica Lang’s Her Door to the Sky. Photo by Angela Sterling, courtesy PNB.

At Pacific Northwest Ballet, James Kirby Rogers, Jonathan Batista and Cecilia Iliesiu have been promoted to principal.

At Colorado Ballet, Jessica Payne has been promoted to soloist, Bryce Lee, Ariel McCarty, Jeremy Studinski and Alexandra Wilson to demi-soloist. Principals Dana Benton and Yosvani Ramos will retire at the end of the 2022–23 season.

Texas Ballet Theater implemented company ranks, naming Carl Coomer, Alexandra Farber, Alexander Kotelenets, Paige Nyman, David Schrenk, Andre Silva and Nicole Von Enck principals.

Awards & Honors

Sir Peter Wright has been named founding director laureate of Birmingham Royal Ballet.

At the Creative Arts Emmy Awards, Ryan Heffington received the award for Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming (“Euphoria”) and Parris Goebel the award for Outstanding Choreography for Variety or Reality Programming (“Savage X Fenty Show Vol. 3”).

Mira Nadon received a 2022 Clive Barnes Award.

Lorenzo Pagano, Alessio Passaquindici, Camilla Colella, Sara Renda, Claudia D’Antonio, Francesco Gabriele Frola, Stanislao Capissi and Giorgio Fourés have received the Sfera d’Oro Award for Dance.

The American Dance Guild will honor Phyllis Lamhut and the late H.T. Chen with Lifetime Achievement Awards, and Christine Jowers with an Award for Distinguished Service to the Field, in December.

Nai-Ni Chen will be posthumously honored with the 2022 NY Dance and Performance Award (“Bessie”) for Lifetime Achievement in Dance, and Christine Jowers the 2022 Service to the Field of Dance Award, at a ceremony on December 16.

Ralph Lemon won the Whitney Museum’s Bucksbaum Award, which includes a $100,000 prize.

Faye Driscoll received the Ellis-Beauregard Foundation’s 2022 Contemporary Dance Award, which includes a $25,000 prize and an additional $15,000 grant toward presenting the awardee’s work in Maine.

Benji Hart, Enneréssa LaNette, Zachary Nicol and Winfield RedCloud Woundedeye have been named 2023 Lab Artists by Chicago Dancemakers Forum. Each will receive a $25,000 grant as well as additional support.

New England Foundation for the Arts’ National Dance Project grant recipients are Antoine Hunter and Capacitor, Brinae Ali, BRKFST Dance Company, Ephrat Asherie Dance, Forklift Danceworks, Hari Krishnan/inDANCE, LaTasha Barnes, MKArts/MK Abadoo, nia love, Paloma McGregor | Angela’s Pulse, Parangal Dance Company, Prumsodun Ok & NATYARASA, Shamel Pitts | TRIBE, slowdanger, Studio Susan Marshall, Susana Arenas Pedroso/Duniya Dance and Drum Company, The Haus of Glitter Dance Company, Urban Bush Women, Ximena Garnica and Shige Moriya | LEIMAY, and Yjastros: The American Flamenco Repertory Company.

The Jerome Foundation awarded grants to Ananya Dance Theater, Explore Choreo, Indigenous Roots Cultural Arts Center, MOVO, Red Eye Theater, Three Thirty One Space, The Cowles Center, Threads Dance Project and Walker Art Center. Amanda Krische and Ashwini Ramaswamy are among the recipients of the foundation’s 2023 Jerome@Camargo residencies.

Lenai A. Wilkerson won Jarritos’ JarriTODOS Artist Grant Contest in the dance category, which includes a $10,000 award.