A.C.E. Awards This Weekend

July 31, 2014


night, 15 up-and-coming choreographers will compete for a chance to win a fully-produced show of their work in New York City. As a part of the 2014 Dance Teacher Summit (a collaboration with DanceMedia and Break the Floor Productions), the Capezio A.C.E. Awards competition attracts some of the best and brightest choreographic talent. A panel of all-star judges, including Andy Blankenbuehler, Mia Michaels, Benoit Swan Pouffer and Mandy Moore—as well as Dance Magazine editor-in-chief Jennifer Stahl!—will review the top 15 submissions, choosing 3 choreographers to receive funds that go toward producing a show.

Want to see what last year’s runners up have been up to? Andre Kasten, Jacob Jonas and Lindsay Nelko each take the Ailey Citigroup Theater stage next week to show us their work as part of the Winners Festival.

Merde to this weekend’s participants and everyone dancing in the Winners Festival—we can’t wait to see some great dancing!


Erica Sobol’s winning piece from the 2013 A.C.E Awards. Photo by Kyle Froman.