Announcing the 2022 Dance Magazine Award Honorees

September 20, 2022

The Dance Magazine Awards, one of the most prestigious honors in dance, celebrate the living legends who have made a lasting impact on the art form. Established in 1954, Dance Magazine Awards have been given to Alvin Ailey, Fred Astaire, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Misty Copeland, Bob Fosse, Gelsey Kirkland, Donald McKayle, Ohad Naharin, Chita Rivera, Tommy Tune and many others. (A full list of honorees is here.)

The Dance Magazine Awards ceremony, including performances and celebratory speeches, will take place in person at Chelsea Factory in New York City on Monday, December 5, 2022, at 7 pm EST, with net proceeds supporting the Harkness Promise Awards. For ticket information, visit

We’re thrilled to announce the honorees for the 2022 Dance Magazine Awards:

Kyle Abraham

Choreographer Kyle Abraham—recipient of a 2013 MacArthur fellowship, 2016 Doris Duke Artist Award and 2018 Princess Grace Statue Award, among many other recognitions—makes deeply powerful dance works that often speak to the Black American experience. In addition to creating for his own ensemble, A.I.M by Kyle Abraham, he has choreographed for companies around the world, including The Royal Ballet, New York City Ballet and Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater.

Lucinda Childs

Postmodern choreographer and dancer Lucinda Childs started her career as a member of the Judson Dance Theater and founded her own company in 1973. Her rich and varied career encompasses concert works such as Available Light and Dance, her seminal 1979 collaboration with Philip Glass and Sol LeWitt; operas including Mozart’s Zaide, Glass’ Akhnaten and John Adams’ Doctor Atomic; and more than 30 works for ballet companies around the world.

Herman Cornejo

An acclaimed principal dancer at American Ballet Theatre since 2003, Herman Cornejo has danced most of the leading roles of the classical canon and created more than a dozen new ballets with the leading choreographers of today. A frequent national and international guest star, Cornejo has also pursued his own artistic endeavors to foster the creation of new works. His accolades include the Gold Medal in the VIII International Moscow Competition, a New York Dance and Performance (“Bessie”) Award for Outstanding Performer in 2013, and the 2014 Prix Benois de la Danse for Best Male Dancer. He has been appointed a Messenger of Peace by the United Nations and was recently recognized as one of America’s Great Immigrants by the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Brenda Dixon-Gottschild

Esteemed artist-scholar Brenda Dixon-Gottschild, PhD, is an interdisciplinary researcher, writer, lecturer, performer and professor emerita of dance studies at Temple University. She is the author of four books centering Black dance artists and forms: Digging the Africanist Presence in American Performance: Dance and Other ContextsWaltzing in the Dark: African American Vaudeville and Race Politics in the Swing EraThe Black Dancing Body: A Geography from Coon to Cool; and Joan Myers Brown & The Audacious Hope of the Black Ballerina: A Biohistory of American Performance.

Dianne McIntyre

Choreographer Dianne McIntyre is a Guggenheim Fellow, a Doris Duke Artist awardee and a three-time “Bessie” Award winner whose work is rooted in research and explores the intersection of history, culture, personal narrative and the human experience. Her five-decade career encompasses Broadway, television and film, commissions for Dance Theatre of Harlem and Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, and projects for her own company, Sounds in Motion, such as the adaptation of Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God. She had a longtime collaboration with the late playwright and poet Ntozake Shange, creator of for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf. McIntyre choreographed the 1998 film Beloved, based on the novel by Toni Morrison.

Chairman’s Award

Jim Herbert, the founder and executive chairman of First Republic Bank, will be given a Chairman’s Award, chosen by Dance Media CEO Frederic M. Seegal to honor distinctive movers and shakers behind the scenes. 

Harkness Promise Awards

Johnnie Cruise Mercer and Kayla Farrish are the recipients of this year’s Harkness Promise Awards, which offer a $5,000 grant and 40 hours of rehearsal space to innovative choreographers in their first decade of professional work. This award, conferred in partnership with the Harkness Foundation for Dance, is funded by net proceeds from the Dance Magazine Awards ceremony.

The 2022 Dance Magazine Awards Selection Committee

The selection committee for the 2022 Dance Magazine Awards included Dance Magazine editor at large and Dance Magazine Awards chair Wendy Perron, master teacher Sheila Barker, Dance Magazine contributor Joseph Carman, The Dance Edit editor in chief Margaret Fuhrer, Dance Media president Joanna Harp, MoBBallet (Memoirs of Blacks in Ballet) founder Theresa Ruth Howard, incoming American Ballet Theatre artistic director Susan Jaffe, New York City Center vice president for programming Stanford Makishi, Pointe managing editor Lydia Murray and former American Dance Festival director Charles L. Reinhart. The committee considered nominations from the editorial staff and advisors of Dance Magazine as well as from the dance public.