News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in July 2022

August 4, 2022

Here are the latest promotions, appointments and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from July 2022.

Comings & Goings

Daniel Camargo balances in back attitude croisé, chin upraised, his upstage arm extended high overhead, the other to the side. He wears a costume of white tights and ballet shoes, and a green, long-sleeved tunic with puffy white accents at the elbows and shoulders. The backdrop is of a shadowy wood.
Daniel Camargo in Swan Lake. Photo by Rosalie O’Connor, courtesy ABT.

At American Ballet Theatre, Catherine Hurlin and Roman Zhurbin have been promoted to principal, Breanne Granlund, Sung Woo Han, Betsy McBride, Chloe Misseldine and SunMi Park to soloist. Daniel Camargo has joined as a principal. These appointments go into effect on September 1.

Yuliia Moskalenko has joined Miami City Ballet as a principal.

At Oklahoma City Ballet, Autumn Klein has been promoted to principal, and Benjamin Tucker has been named principal character artist and associate rehearsal director. Roylan Ramos Hechavarria has joined as a principal.

Carly Wheaton has joined Oregon Ballet Theatre as a soloist.

At Birmingham Royal Ballet, Yaoqian Shang and Miki Mizutani have been promoted to principal, Beatrice Parma, Yu Kurihara, Max Maslen and Lachlan Monaghan to first soloist. Riku Ito has joined from Northern Ballet as a soloist.

At The Royal Ballet, Joseph Sissens has been promoted to first soloist, Annette Buvoli, Ashley Dean, Leticia Dias, Mariko Sasaki, Lukas B. Brændsrød, Leo Dixon, David Donnelly and Téo Dubreuil to soloist. Soloist Paul Kay has retired to become artistic manager for intensive courses and auditions at The Royal Ballet School. Lesley Collier has retired from her position as répétiteur to the principal artists. Senior producer Amanda Skoog has departed to join English National Ballet School as its executive director.

At La Scala Ballet, Alice Mariani has been promoted to principal, Gaia Andreanò and Camilla Cerulli to soloist.

Alexander Yap has joined Hong Kong Ballet as a soloist.

Evan McKie has departed National Ballet of Canada.

Ben Needham-Wood has been named artistic director of Boulder Ballet.

Cesar G. Salinas has been named associate artistic director of Giordano Dance Chicago.

Michelle Preston has been named executive director of the José Limón Dance Foundation, effective November 1.

Elizabeth Van Vleck has been named associate executive director of Bruce Wood Dance.

Sidra Bell has been named the inaugural artist in residence at Gibney. Alexander Anderson and Jie-Hung Connie Shiau have been named Gibney Company choreographic fellows for 2022–23.

Jeff Khan will step down from his position as artistic director and CEO of Australia’s Performance Space at the end of August to become creative director at Asia TOPA. He will continue at Performance Space as artistic associate/creative consultant until October 31. Vanessa Lloyd has been named CEO.

Awards & Honors

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar received the Lillian and Dorothy Gish Prize, which includes a cash award of approximately $250,000.

Alexandria Wailes and Antoine Hunter are among the recipients of the Mellon Foundation’s 2022 Disability Futures Fellowship, which includes a $50,000 unrestricted grant.

At the Venice Biennale, Saburo Teshigawara received the 2022 Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement in Dance. Rocío Molina received the Silver Lion.

Ballethnic Dance Company and Collage Dance Collective are part of the inaugural cohort of South Arts’ Southern Cultural Treasures initiative.

The 2022 Princess Grace Award winners in the field of dance performance and choreography are Mira Nadon, Abdiel Figueroa Reyes, Omar Román De Jesús, Kameron N. Saunders, Jake Tribus and Maleek Washington. Each will receive a $10,000 unrestricted grant. Eleni Loving and Ashley Simpson received honoraria, which includes a $1,000 unrestricted award. Former recipients Rashaun Mitchell, Zoe Scofield and Robyn Mineko Williams received special projects awards, and Shamel Pitts received a works in progress residency award.

Tra Mi Dinh is the recipient of the 2022 Keir Choreographic Award, which includes a $50,000 prize, for her The__. Jenni Large won the $10,000 Peoples Choice Award for Wet Hard.

Michael Bishop, Myrna Packer and Art Bridgman, Chrybaby Cozie, DNA, Neil Greenberg, Omar Román De Jesús, Michael Manswell, Sonia Olla, Pat Ghizamboule Robinson, Leonardo Sandoval, Dolly Sfeir and David Thomson have received 2022 New York State Council for the Arts/New York Foundation for the Arts Artist Fellowships in the field of choreography. Each receives a $7,000 unrestricted grant.