Will We See You at the 2022 Dance Teacher Awards This Week?

August 15, 2022

Like you, there are so many passionate and inspiring dance teachers out there who pour their heart and soul into their vocation. And in just a few days, you’ll have the opportunity to celebrate eight extraordinary educators with our much-loved 2022 Dance Teacher Awards taking place on Thursday, August 18, at the Sheen Center for Thought & Culture in NYC! 

This year, we’re honoring two Awardees of Distinction—Kay Mazzo, a symbol of strength and grace in the ballet world who’s preserving Balanchine’s legacy, and Risa Steinberg, a beloved dance educator who’s known for her challenging, illuminating Limón classes and for being a mentor for some of contemporary dance’s most exciting dancemakers such as Kyle Abraham, Brian Brooks and Kate Weare.

We’re also celebrating Ronald K. Alexander, who continues to open doors for young ballet dancers of color; Antonio and Kirven Douthit-Boyd, who are guiding the next generation through their Center of Creative Arts institution in St. Louis, Missouri; Kristine Elliott, who is using ballet to promote diversity and social change; Ana Nery Fragoso, who fosters community and collaboration through teaching elementary school children, leading professional-development workshops for educators, and mentoring future teachers as director of the Arnhold Graduate Dance Education Program at Hunter College; and Yvonne Gutierrez, a heralded flamenco, salsa and Spanish dance artist and educator who is renowned for her use of dance education to serve overlooked communities and promote HIV/AIDS awareness.

Attendees will also enjoy an inspiring, hour-long conversation with Francesca Harper who’ll be talking about the legacy that shaped her as a young artist and how she’s nurturing the next generation of dancers at Ailey II.

Tickets (including group tickets) are available for the ceremony only or for the ceremony with cocktail reception. Proceeds from the cocktail party fund the Dance Teacher Scholarship at MOVE|NYC|— a cause that is very dear to our hearts.

Click here to get your tickets now—we can’t wait to see you there!

Header photo credits, clockwise from top left: Photo by Rosalie O’Connor, courtesy SAB, Photo by Peter Schaaf, courtesy Steinberg; Photo by Hollis King; Photo by Peter Wochniak, courtesy Center of Creative Arts; Photo by L Kronenfield; Photo by Nel Shelby; Photo by Patricia Unterman; Photo by Peter Wochniak, courtesy COCA