News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in December 2021

January 4, 2022

Here are the latest promotions, appointments and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from the last month.

Comings & Goings

At Boston Ballet, Chyrstyn Mariah Fentroy has been promoted to principal.

At Dutch National Ballet, Riho Sakamoto has been promoted to principal.

Jorden Morris has been appointed artistic director of Orlando Ballet; prior to the announcement he had been serving as guest artistic director for the 2021–22 season.

New York City Center president and CEO Arlene Shuler will step down at the end of the 2021–22 season.

Bangarra Dance Theatre artistic director Stephen Page will step down at the close of its 2022 season. He will be succeeded by artistic associate Frances Rings.

A black and white headshot of Joan Boada. He is a white man with scruffy facial hair and dark eyes, wearing a henley over a black t-shirt. He looks seriously at the camera.
Joan Boada. Photo by Jacobo Medrano, Courtesy Boston Ballet

Joan Boada has been named the next artistic director of Boston Ballet II, succeeding Peter Stark, who is departing to lead The Rock School for Dance Education, in June.

Kay Mazzo will retire as chair of faculty at School of American Ballet in June. She will be succeeded by Darla Hoover, who will leave her position as Central Pennsylvania Youth Ballet and Ballet Academy East’s pre-professional division artistic director in late April. Aesha Ash has been appointed associate chair of faculty. Both appointments will be effective with the start of SAB’s summer session.

Lamar Lovelace has been named executive director at Step Afrika! Founder C. Brian Williams steps into the role of executive producer.

Erin Fogarty has been named executive director at Gallim.

At Kun-Yang Lin/Dancers, Katie Moore has been named executive director.

Tamia B. Santana has been named chief engagement and inclusion officer at Ballet Hispánico.

Michael Apuzzo will give his final performances with Paul Taylor Dance Company in March. He will join the Taylor Foundation as a development specialist.

Awards & Honors

Marlene Monteiro Freitas and Botis Seva are among the recipients of the 2021 Chanel Next Prize, which includes a 100,000€ prize.

Recipients of the second Disability.Dance.Artistry. Residency Program, a Dance/NYC program in partnership with Gibney, are x, Sonya Rio-Glick, Ogemdi Ude, Larissa Velez-Jackson/LVJ Performance Co., iele paloumpis, Elisabeth Motley, Elisa Hernandez, David Lee Sierra, Anna Gichan and Alison Kopit.

Audrey Ipapo Baran, Edson Barbosa, Taylor Carrasco and Derick McKoy, Jr are the winners of The Joffrey Ballet’s Winning Works Choreographic Competition, which includes a $5,000 stipend.

Lilach Orenstein is one of the inaugural fellows at The Workshop, a new initiative to support Jewish artists of color.

JoJo Siwa, Rachel Zegler, Skylar Brandt, and Kaelyn Castle, Khamyra Sykes and Theo Wisseh (of Collab Crib) were named to Forbes2022 30 Under 30 list.

Audrey Ipapo Baran smiles warmly at the camera. Her dark brown hair is cropped close to her head. She wears a simple chain and a black tank top. A tattoo on her right shoulder is partially visible.
Audrey Ipapo Baran. Photo courtesy The Joffrey Ballet