The 2013 Princess Grace Award winners

August 6, 2013

Here at Dance Magazine, we’ve always got emerging talent on the brain (our “25 to Watch,” published every January, is coming together as we speak). Another way that early-career artists receive much-deserved recognition are the prestigious Princess Grace Awards, which were announced today. For 2013, the dancers and choreographers who have been recognized with scholarships and fellowships are Alexander L. Anderson (The Juilliard School), Skylar Brandt (American Ballet Theatre), Courtney A. Henry (Alonzo King LINES Ballet), Talli Jackson (Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company), and Rachelle Anaïs Scott (Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet). Three choreographers have received fellowships at specific companies: Rosie Herrera at Ballet Hispanico, Loni Landon at BODYTRAFFIC, and Robyn Mineko Williams at Hubbard Street Dance Chicago.

In addition, special project awards recognize choreographers Eric Kupers and Zoe Scofield, a works-in-progress residency has been awarded to Camille A. Brown, and a choreography mentorship co-commission award goes to Alex Ketley at the Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography (MANCC).

And finally Tiler Peck. Is there anything this eminently musical and stylish ballerina can’t do? Peck, a Princess Grace awardee in 2004, will receive the 2013 Princess Grace Statue Award, given to past winners who have “distinguish[ed] themselves in their artistic disciplines” since their initial award (Peck received hers in 2004)—and which comes with a cool $25,000. The awards in total amount to more than $1 million.

The 2013 Princess Grace Awards, which recognize promising artists in the fields of theater, dance, and film, will be held on October 30 in New York City.