News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in April 2023

May 1, 2023

Here are the latest promotions, appointments, and departures, as well as notable awards and accomplishments, from April 2023.

Comings & Goings

Cédric Andrieux has been named director of Lyon Opera Ballet.

Ballet Arizona artistic director Ib Anderson will step down on June 30, 2024.

Amy Seiwert. Photo by Steve DiBartolomeo, courtesy Smuin Contemporary Ballet.

Amy Seiwert will join Smuin Contemporary Ballet as associate artistic director in August.

Makeda Crayton has been named executive director of Deeply Rooted Dance Theater. Co-founder Kevin Iega Jeff has shifted to the role of emeritus executive artistic director.

Danielle St.Germain has stepped down as executive director of San Francisco Ballet. Arturo Jacobus has been named interim executive director.

At Dutch National Ballet, Victor Caixeta has been promoted to principal, Giorgi Potskhishvili to soloist.

At Ballet West, Tyler Gum has been promoted to principal, Kristina Weimer and Victoria Vassos to soloist, and Nicole Fannéy and Vinicius Lima to demi-soloist, beginning with the 2023–24 season. Demi-soloist Joshua Whitehead will retire at the end of the current season.

At New York City Ballet, Olivia MacKinnon, Alexa Maxwell, and KJ Takahashi have been promoted to soloist. Soloist Georgina Pazcoguin will depart the company after NYCB’s spring season. Her final performance is currently scheduled for May 7.

Awards & Honors

The 2023 Guggenheim Fellows include Jon Kinzel, Petra Kuppers, Liz Lerman, Makini (jumatatu m. poe), Richard Move, Meg Stuart, and Nejla Yatkin.

Joanna Haigood is among the recipients of the 2023 Rainin Fellowship, which includes a $100,000 grant.

Joanna Haigood’s Love, a state of grace. Photo by Walter Kitundu, courtesy Cultural Counsel.

Winners at the 2023 Olivier Awards included Dickson Mbi (Outstanding Achievement in Dance, Enowate), Ivan Michael Blackstock (Best New Dance Production, Traplord), and Matt Cole (Gillian Lynne Award for Best Theatre Choreographer, Disney’s Newsies).

Janet Eilber will receive an honorary doctorate from The Juilliard School on May 19.