News of Note: What You Might Have Missed in January 2024

February 2, 2024

Here are the latest promotions, appointments, departures, awards, and accomplishments from January 2024, plus new or newly available funding opportunities for dance artists and organizations.

Comings & Goings

Kim Chan has joined Jacob’s Pillow as associate artistic director.

César Morales has been appointed artistic director of Santiago Ballet, beginning in March.

Timour Bourtasenkov has been named artistic director of Cleveland Ballet after the company severed ties with co-founder Gladisa Guadalupe. Larry Goodman has been named CEO, succeeding Howard Bender, who had served in the role on an interim basis following the suspension and subsequent resignation of Guadalupe’s husband, Michael Krasnyansky. The cofounders’ departures come in the wake of a misconduct investigation.

Andrea Just has been named associate director and Rebecah Goldstone dramaturge of Ate9, leading the company’s new Europe team.

Charlotte St. Martin will retire from The Broadway League effective February 16. Jason Laks will serve as acting president.

David Nixon has been appointed artistic producer at Cape Town City Ballet.

Anna Hainsworth has been named Birmingham Royal Ballet’s in-house producer.

Edward Watson has been named guest répétiteur at The Royal Ballet.

Yuan Yuan Tan will retire from San Francisco Ballet after a farewell performance on February 14.

Pacific Northwest Ballet principal James Yoichi Moore will retire at the end of the season. His final performance is scheduled for June 9.

Awards & Honors

Recipients of 2024 United States Artists Fellowships, which come with a $50,000 unrestricted grant, include Mythili Prakash, Sean Dorsey, Jerron Herman, Petra Bravo, Marjani Forté-Saunders/7NMS, and Erin Kilmurray.

Marjani Forté-Saunders is photographed in profile. Her back is turned to the camera and she looks to the left from beneath a wide-brimmed hat, eyes intent. The bottom half of her face is painted silver; a yellow half moon earring dangles from her visible ear.
Marjani Forté-Saunders. Photo by Angel Origgi, courtesy Cultural Counsel.

At the Primetime Creative Arts Emmys, Jon Boogz won Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming (“Blindspotting”), and Derek Hough won Outstanding Choreography for Variety or Reality Programming (“Dancing with the Stars”).

The International Association of Blacks in Dance honored the Bluff City Cluster of the LINKS Incorporated with its Distinguished Leadership Award; the Jenkins Family Foundation with the Reginald Van Lee Philanthropy Award; and Tommie-Waheed Evans with the Charles Augins Inspirational Artist Award.

Orlando Pabotoy will receive the 2023–24 Joe A. Callaway Award for excellence in choreography from the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society for his work on The Half-God of Rainfall at New York Theatre Workshop.

Karen Kain has been named the 2024 Dance in Focus Awardee by Dance On Camera.

The Martha Hill Dance Fund will present Lifetime Achievement Awards to Joan Myers Brown and Jim May and Mid-Career Awards to Jacqulyn Buglisi and Ronald K. Brown at a ceremony on February 26.

Brenda Way will be inducted into the California Hall of Fame in February.

New Funding Opportunities

CUNY Dance Initiative is accepting applications from New York City–based choreographers and companies for its 2024–25 residency cycle until February 15. More information here.

Bloomberg Philanthropies’ Digital Accelerator Program will award up to 50 qualifying non-profit cultural organizations with funding and support to strengthen their digital infrastructure. Application deadline is March 13, more information available here.

Applications for the Jerome Hill Artist Fellowships, which award Minnesota and New York City–based artists $60,000 over three years to support the creation of new work and/or artistic development, are open until April 15. More information here.